I can kill any plant…

“I can kill any plant in 2 weeks, provided it’s healthy when I get it!”

These are the words of a dear friend of mine as she bemoans the fact that all of her plants end up dying as a result of her inability to give them proper care.

I was reminded this morning of an important lesson as I went to water my own plants this morning. I believe plants have their own consciousness, their own intelligence and, if we listen, are able to communicate important lessons to us.

I started my task with the attitude that I want to get this task over with and check it off of my “2 do” list. I hurried through filling the watering pitcher using both hot and cold water as a way to fill it faster. I rushed over to water my first plant, a Norfolk Pine that has been with me for nearly 20 years, through two wives and two families.

While pouring the water and eying the next plan in line, I heard a thought in my head. You can relax and call it my active imagination if that makes you feel more comfortable. I believe these words came from my plant companion.

“I need more than water to thrive and to grow. I need your love and attention.”

Plants are cool that way. They don’t hide what they need. They don’t make you guess. Nor do they scream. They are honest and patient beings.

Before I was done watering all the plants in my house, my thoughts went to the present media-fueled controversy in response to the Arizona shootings. The debate has centered around whether inflamed political rhetoric contributed to this tragic event and if so who’s to blame. Responsibility has been tossed around like a hot potato among all involved. The debate seems to be whether or not this kind of rhetoric does actual harm?”

The question I have in my head is quite different. (surprise, I know) my question isn’t, “Does politically inflamed rhetoric, ripe with violent metaphors contribute to violence?” Instead, I would ask, “Does this way of speaking and behaving do anything constructive?” Does it build people up? If it doesn’t, what use is it? Why do we have to debate whether it’s harmful? Why can’t we settle this debate by asking, “Is it helpful?” (We know it sells, that should make us even more suspiciousness of using it.)

Plants have a way of picking up on our vibes and responding accordingly. Call it subtle energy, receiving electromagnetic impulses from our brains or our heart (the heart is a transmitter that can emit measurable electromagnetic waves up to 10 feet away). I don’t know what to call it but it’s there. My plants deserve my attention. Do the people around me deserve less?

I suspect if we could see the energy plants seem to “see” around us, we’d pay a lot more attention to what we put out there, in terms of our speech, our writing and even our thoughts. How about going beyond mere rhetoric or even our behavior (civility). How about considering practicing “energetic hygiene?”

Steve

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment